1 min read

We Are Very Busy Little Worker Bees Today

Harper Luna shares her favorite fruit smoothie for an interplanetary reporter on the go.
We Are Very Busy Little Worker Bees Today

No time for much of a post today, I’m afraid. Our officially mandated settling in time has come to an end here at Outpost 3 and this week those of us with jobs that were labeled “non-critical,” finally got to go to work. I say “finally” because I have been bouncing on my toes to go check out the newsroom and meet my new colleagues officially.

So we’re mostly doing that right now. So far it’s been a lot of HR classes but any day now I’m certain we’re going to start producing a paper. Yep! Jumping into work as a full-time investigative reporter at The Ocasta Global Third Register has left me with little time for cooking, but I always try to make time for breakfast, no matter what.

This smoothie I go back to time and again, mostly because it’s not too sweet and is jam-packed with nutrients. If you don’t have blueberries, use whatever you favorite berry is, fresh or frozen.

On-A-Deadline Breakfast Smoothie

(adapted from Amy Chaplin)

  • 2 tablespoons chia seeds
  • 1 ½ cups milk of choice (I use coconut)
  • 1 cup fresh berries or fruit, whatever is seasonal
  • 1 dash vanilla extract (optional)
  • 1 heaping tablespoon coconut butter or oil
  • Cinnamon and honey to taste

Put the chia seeds in a jar with your milk, stir, and let sit for 10 minutes minimum

Pour the chia-milk into a blender and add the rest of the ingredients. Blend until smooth. This makes enough for two. Drink. Go get ‘em.

Image by Jugoslocos on Unsplash